Hadith on Charity

The first time I heard of this hadith, I teared up. It has such a profound effect on the reader, even though it is such a short and simple hadith.

Narrated Aisha:

A lady along with her two daughters came to me asking (for some alms), but she found nothing with me except one date which I gave to her and she divided it between her two daughters, and did not eat anything herself, and then she got up and went away. (…) (Sahih Bukhari)

Look at the generosity of the believers at the time of the Prophet ﷺ . First, that of Saidatina Aisha who gave the last remaining date in the house to the woman. She could have saved it for herself and her beloved husband ﷺ. But when the opportunity arose to help another in greater need, she took it, fully believing that the pleasure of Allah would suffice.

Secondly, the generosity of the woman who sacrificed her portion of the date, so that her daughters would get more. Here we witness the love of a mother towards her children.

Let’s reflect this in our own situations. How many times did we abstain from extending our hand in charity to someone who was asking, or chose to give less than what we originally intended? By Allah, I have been guilty of this too. “I shouldn’t give so much, I’m getting married soon, I need the money” “I already gave enough in donations this month” “I should save this for my house and my future children” “I should save this for that expensive pair of shoes I don’t actually need”.

We splurge away our wealth or hoard it to ourselves, while we ignore those who are in dire and urgent need.

A friend on twitter was sharing his experience collecting funds for a cause. He spoke to a lady who did not earn much and was saving up to get married. Hence he did not expect much from her, but to his surprise, she donated SGD$2000.

Even in this era of materialism and obsession over wealth, we have a few rare gems that display the generosity of Saidatina Aisha and the other believers of the Prophet’s ﷺ time. Let’s aim to be one of those rare gems.

3 thoughts on “Hadith on Charity

  1. I think its not the amount that counts, but the niat! It could be small amounts like $2 to the masjid, but the pahala you get is immense, as its multiplied everytime someone prays there. I too feel the pinch of the wedding costs sometimes, but I believe if you give to those in need – Allah will reward you in so many more other ways (may not be monetary, but health or well-being of your family etc)

    Like

Leave a Reply | Anonymous comments are also welcomed

