Update: 10 Months!

In what it seems to be like a blink of an eye, it’s been 10 months since we’ve gotten married. I don’t really have a point for this post, I guess it’s just an update for what’s been going on in my life and I do terribly miss blogging.

I have ideas for so many blog posts but I somehow can’t really find the time to write them out. Some posts have been drafted out halfway, while others are just stuck in my head or gone over time. At the start of Ramadan I had wanted to post a “Ramadan Hacks” post but, well, there are two days of Ramadan left. Oh well. I guess there’s always next year … in shaa Allah.
 
I find it hard to find “me” time to write or do stuff that I had wanted to do. My treadmill has become a $800 clothes hangar. I have 3 days worth of video footage from our honeymoon in Bali which I had planned to a vlog, but well, after 10 months it’s about 5% done. I have books which I bought feeling so excited to read them, now they lay on my shelf half-read or some not opened at all. And most importantly, there are so many people who matter so much to me in my life but I feel I’m not making enough time for them.

I spend my weekdays at work, and once I reach home and do the room chores I get so exhausted I just head to bed after prayers. Weekends are spent at my in-laws’ or catching up on sleep.

Note I mention “room chores” because we haven’t moved in to our own home yet. I can’t fathom how exhausted I am from just maintaining one room – imagine how dead I’d be with an entire house. So much respect for the women who juggle their work and/ or kids, and an entire house to take care of. HATS OFF!

What’s the point of this post, really? I’m just ranting at this point.

I know at this point I seem unhappy, but nothing could be further from the truth, actually. I am happier and feel more fulfilled than I have ever been in my life. Mursh has been such a wonderful husband to me and helping out in any way he can. It’s so hard to believe that it’s been 3 years since I’ve known him – and at that time, he was telling me he was unsure if he’d believed in God, and he was questioning me on why we have to pray, etc. Now I find myself waking up in the middle of the night to find him reciting the Quran, trying to memorize a surah. He’s such an inspiration to me and within the time I’ve known him, he’s helped me learn and grow so much.

I do miss him terribly when he’s not around. Due to our conflicting work schedules, the only time we really get to spend with each other is the weekend (and even so, he has to work on alternate Saturdays). That’s when we catch up on how our week has been, simply enjoy each other’s company or discuss things like our finances and planning for our house.

Ah, the house. That’s another headache.

We booked our flat in 2015 (it’s been 2 years already??) which means it’ll be ready around mid-2018. So that’s one year left. Our initial plan was that we were going to take our time to furnish the house and maybe move in once we’re ready, but my brother has planned to get married in the third quarter of next year and thus my parents’ house would be too crowded. So we should move in not too long after we’ve gotten the keys.

Alhamdulillah, I suppose we don’t need to take up a bank loan for renovations and furniture, as long as we’re careful with our spending. I guess I’m lucky that both Mursh and I have the same mindset with regards to the house – as long as we’ve got all the basic stuff and everything works, that would suffice. I guess it’s because we’re both from engineering fields. We don’t want to spend a bomb on the house and function comes over form, any day.

So I guess we’re sort of financially ready for the house, but the thought of going out to hunt for furniture and kitchen cabinets and stuff is just – urgh. How do we even find the time for that? We barely have the time for all the stuff we need to do now.

The issue is time, isn’t it? It always seems like there’s not enough time in one day but that shouldn’t be the case. I’m happy with my life, I really am, but I guess I need to put in more work with my time management. I guess, even after 10 months, I’m still struggling to adapt to working life plus married life?

Or maybe it’s just working life. Married life has been so great. Alhamdulillah, despite the hectic pace of working life, we still get to take breaks to go on short getaways. Before marriage, I’ve never been on holidays before! The only time I get to go overseas is for school trips or camps.

So the first holiday I went to in my life was our honeymoon to Bali. After that there were a few trips to Melacca, and one trip to Langkawi, with Mursh’s family. Unlike mine, Mursh’s family go on these trips quite often so I really feel lucky to be able to tag along.

Oh, and a side note, because I don’t go overseas so often, it was only during the honeymoon that I’ve learnt that as travellers, we can shorten and combine our prayers. See, Islam has given us so much flexibility. Growing up I’d always thought that Islam was stringent and strict, but now I realise that I only think that way because I lack the knowledge.

Our most recent trip was to Sawahlunto/ Padang, in West Sumatra, Indonesia. That trip was … a real Iman-booster. It really opened my eyes to alot of things in my life that I’d taken for granted. At first I didn’t want to post on wordpress or social media about that trip because it seemed like riak, but I really feel the need to share and I hope that it will benefit others as well. I guess that would be the next blog post.

So that’s it for the update. This is probably the most disorganized, unplanned, messiest blog post I’ve ever written here but hey it’s better than nothing. This blog has been dead for so long. If anyone has been struggling with time management as I have or have tips, please share!

2 thoughts on “Update: 10 Months!

  1. I also always felt so busy and exhausted easily during the first few weeks/months of marriage because of the room/house chores. But because I had to start going for appointments to source for IDs and meet up with insurance agents, no choice, we had to prioritise and choose wisely how to spend our time. Housework will never end, so I forced myself to cut down spending time cleaning, organizing and decluttering. After awhile, it discplines me to be less messy everyday haha. And it helps to schedule in advance to do the things you want to do also. Like excercise on Tuesdays, reading on Fridays etc.

    Like

    1. It’s good to know I’m not the only one always feeling tired haha. And yes the scheduling thing would be very useful I think. I was tell myself “I’d do ___ once I have the free time” but nah it never happens. 😣 thank you! 💝

      Like

Leave a Reply | Anonymous comments are also welcomed

